Log in

Founded in 1980

he first state-level medical history society to have a website.  Our goal is to promote interest, research, and writing in medical history, and we are dedicated to the discussion and enjoyment of the history of medicine and allied fields.


Meet Our Executive Team

The Executive Team is in charge of the major professional and administrative activities of the MHSNJ.

President: Dennis Cornfield, M.D.

Dennis Cornfield, M.D. earned his B.A. and M.D. degrees at the University of Pennsylvania. After practicing Hematology and Medical Oncology in Philadelphia for 19 years, he trained in Pathology and practiced Hematopathology at the Lehigh Valley Health Network in Allentown, PA for 22 years. Dr. Cornfield has authored numerous publications in hematology and in the history of medicine.

Vice President: John Zen Jackson

John Zen Jackson, J.D., FACTL is Of Counsel to the Healthcare Department of the law firm of Greenbaum, Rowe, Smith & Davis, LLP in Woodbridge, NJ. He is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and is certified by the New Jersey Supreme Court as a civil trial attorney. He received his B.A. from Tufts University and his J.D. from Seton Hall University School of Law. He has authored multiple articles on medical history and other medical or bioethical topics as well as on legal topics.

Treasurer: Robert Vietrogoski, M.L.S.

Robert Vietrogoski, M.L.S. is the Head of Special Collections – History of Medicine, Rutgers University Libraries, George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences.  Bob is the Editor in Chief for the MHSNJ weekly Newsletter.  He is also Co-Chair for the Program Committee.

Meet other important MHSNJ members

Immediate Past-President: Robert Lahita, M.D., Ph.D.

Robert George Lahita is an American physician, internist, and rheumatologist, best known for his research into systemic lupus erythematosus and other autoimmune diseases. Doctor Lahita is Clinical Professor of Medicine at Rutgers New Jersey Medical School, Professor of Medicine at Hackensack Meridian School of Medicine, and the Director of the Institute for Autoimmune and Rheumatic Diseases at St. Joseph Healthcare System.

Program Chair Emerita: Sandra Moss, MD, MA (History)

Dr. Sandra Moss attended Rutgers Medical School (1969) and the Mt. Sinai School of Medicine (1971), then practiced and taught Internal Medicine in New Brunswick, N.J. until her retirement in 2000.  In 2005, she completed a master’s degree in the history of medicine, technology and the environment.  She has lectured and written extensively (including 5 books) on topics in the history of medicine, particularly in New Jersey. Dr. Moss is past president of the MHSNJ and the American Osler Society.

Program Chair and Book Review Editor: Alan J. Lippman, M.D.

 Dr. Alan Lippman is a graduate of Hahnemann Medical College (1965).  After practicing medical oncology for 47 years, he retired in 2019.  He is a past president of the MHSNJ.  Having a particular interest in medical journalism, Dr. Lippman has served as Editor-in-Chief of The Journal of the Newark Beth Israel Medical Center and Deputy Senior Editor of New Jersey Medicine; he currently serves on the Editorial Board of MDAdvisor

Original Articles Editor: Vincent J. Cirillo, PhD

Vincent J. Cirillo, Ph.D. (medical history) is co-founder and past President of the MHSNJ. He has held every office and served on every committee in the organization.

                     Contact Nina Mansfield

Webmaster: Nina Mansfield 

Nina Mansfield is a graduating Senior at the Bronx High School of Science in New York City. In the fall of 2024, she will be attending the University of Pennsylvania, where she plans to major in Mathematics. 

© The Medical History Society of New Jersey | All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software