Log in

Founded in 1980

he first state-level medical history society to have a website.  Our goal is to promote interest, research, and writing in medical history, and we are dedicated to the discussion and enjoyment of the history of medicine and allied fields.


The Cowen Award


Established in 2001, the David L. Cowen Award for Achievement in the History of Medicine recognizes distinguished MHSNJ members who have contributed meaningfully to the field as educators, researchers or authors, and have demonstrated significant service to the Society. The Award is named in honor of David L. Cowen, M.A., LittD (Hon) (1909-2006), a world-renowned historian of pharmacy, who was the first recipient. A full biography of this exceptional individual, written by Drs. Vincent Cirillo and Karen Reeds, can be found at the following link: David L. Cowen

Recipients of the David L. Cowen award

2001  David L. Cowen, MA, LittD (Hon)

2003  Karen Reeds, PhD

2004  Allen B. Weisse, MD

2005  Vincent Cirillo, PhD

2006  William H. Helfand, BS

2007  Gerald Grob, PhD

2008  Wolfgang Jochle, DVM

2009 Sandra Moss, MD, MA

2010  Michael Nevins, MD

2011  Frederick C. Skvara, MD

2012  George Hill, MD, MA, LittD

2015  Frank F. Katz, PhD

2018  William C. Campbell, PhD

© The Medical History Society of New Jersey | All Rights Reserved

Privacy Policy

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software